NKU Professor Jiao Lifang Won Chinese Young Women in Science Award


The results of the 18th “Chinese Young Women in Science Award” were announced on April 22, and Jiao Lifang, a professor at the College of Chemistry of Nankai University, was awarded the prize.

Jiao Lifang has presided over projects of the National Key R&D Program, the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, the Excellent Young Scientists Fund, etc. She has been devoted to the research on efficient storage and catalytic conversion of clean and renewable energy. The highly safe, long-life, low-cost sodium-ion battery energy storage system she has designed assists in the rapid development of “renewable energy power generation + electrochemical large-scale energy storage” mode. Proton exchange membrane (PEM) electrolysis of water is adapted to the volatility of renewable energy. She has developed catalysts with low precious metal load, high activity, high stability and excellent performance under acid conditions, which realize the catalytic conversion of renewable energy, promote the development of China’s hydrogen energy industry, and contribute to the goals of “carbon peak and carbon neutrality”. She has published over 280 SCI papers, and has obtained over 10 authorized invention patents in China. She is named a global Highly Cited Researcher by Clarivate. Jiao Lifang was awarded the first prize of Tianjin Natural Science Award in 2019 (the principal person). She serves as an editorial board member of eScience and Chinese Chemical Letters, the vice chairman of the Electrospinning Nonwovens Committee of China Nonwovens & Industrial Textiles Association, and the representative of Tianjin Association for Science and Technology.

The Chinese Young Women in Science Award, jointly established and organized in 2014 by China Association for Science and Technology, the All-China Women's Federation and the China National Committee for UNESCO, aims to recognize and reward young women scientists who have made significant scientific and technological achievements in the field of science, and to encourage them to achieve more fruitful research results in science and technology.