The eScience International Summit 2023 kicks off in Tianjin


The eScience International Summit 2023 took place in Tianjin from August 20 to 23. The summit was jointly hosted by the eScience journal of Nankai University, the State Key Laboratory of Advanced Chemical Power Sources and the School of Materials Science and Engineering of Tianjin University of Technology. 

Seeram Ramakrishna, Associate Editor-in-Chief of eScience, fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE), fellow of the Academy of Engineering, Singapore (SAEng), and Professor at National University of Singapore; Yu Shuhong, Associate Editor-in-Chief of eScience, Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Professor at University of Science and Technology of China / Southern University of Science and Technology; Héctor D. Abruña, fellow of the American National Academy of Sciences, fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and Professor at Cornell University; Doron Aurbach, fellow of the European Academy of Sciences and Professor at Bar-Ilan University in Israel; Duncan H. Gregory, fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry of the United Kingdom and Professor at the University of Glasgow; Husam N. Alshareef, fellow of the American Physical Society, fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry of the United Kingdom, and Professor at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology in Saudi Arabia; Sebastian Schlücker, fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry of the United Kingdom and Professor at the University of Duisburg-Essen; Atsuo Yamada, fellow of the Electrochemical Society of Japan and Professor at the University of Tokyo; Zhichuan J. Xu, fellow of the Academy of Engineering Singapore, fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, and Professor at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore; Yong-Mook Kang, fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Professor at Korea University; Seokwoo Jeon, Professor at Korea University; Sun Dalin, Professor at Fudan University; Pan Hongge, Professor at Zhejiang University/Xi’an Technological University; Long Yitao, Professor at Nanjing University; Ouyang Liuzhang, Professor at South China University of Technology; Ding Mingyue, professor at Wuhan University; Wang Dan, Professor at the Institute of Process Engineering of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and others attended the summit. Professor Chen Jun, Chairman of the Summit, Founding Editor of eScience, Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Vice President of Nankai University, attended the opening ceremony and delivered a speech. Cheng Fangyi, Vice Chairman of the Summit, Executive Associate Editor-in-Chief of eScience and Professor at Nankai University, introduced the progress of the journal. Lu Tongbu, Vice Chairman of the Summit and Professor at Tianjin University of Technology, moderated the opening ceremony.

At the opening ceremony, Chen Jun extended a warm welcome to the experts, scholars and guests from the business circles. He said that energy was the material basis for human activities and the source of social development, and that it was necessary to strengthen global cooperation and exchanges in the fields of solar energy, wind energy, hydrogen energy and electrochemical energy storage in order to realize green, low-carbon and sustainable development. In view of the key role of science and technology journals in academic promotion, Nankai University established eScience journal in collaboration with KeAi in 2020, which is a globally influential academic journal for publishing original research findings in e-related areas such as energy, electrochemistry, electronics, and the environment. eScience has received wide support from scholars during its three-year development. It is hoped that this summit will promote discussion on the frontier topics of advanced energy science and technology as well as the development of eScience journal and new energy technology.

Cheng Fangyi reported on the objectives and development of eScience. He said that eScience has an international editorial board, author group and readership. In the first year of its launch, the journal obtained International Standard Serial Number, China Number and trademark rights. In 2020, it was selected as High-Starting-Point New Journal Project under China Science and Technology Journal Excellence Action Plan. In 2022, it was included in the DOAJ and Scopus databases. At present, eScience has published 118 papers in twelve issues, which have widespread attention and have been cited by experts and scholars at home and abroad.

The summit has selected 12 young scientist awards. Professor Seeram Ramakrishna, Academician Chen Jun, Academician Yu Shuhong and Professor Duncan H. Gregory presented awards to the 12 young scientists.

After the awarding ceremony, Professor Seeram Ramakrishna, Academician Yu Shuhong, Professor Héctor D. Abruña, Professor Duncan H. Gregory, Professor Doron Aurbach, Professor Sebastian Schlücker, Professor Zhichuan J. Xu and Professor Husam N. Alshareef gave presentations entitled “Future Directions of Materials”, “Bio-Inspired Sustainable Structural Materials”, “Energy Conversion and Storage: Novel Materials and Operando Methods”, “Fast Cation Conductivity in Complex Metal Halides & Hydrides; Prospects for Solid State Electrolytes”, “Electromobility − the Challenge of Very High Energy Density Durable Rechargeable Batteries”, “Tailor-Made Noble Metal Nanoparticles for Chemical Energy Conversion”, “Magnetization Enhanced Water Oxidation on Magnetic Catalysts”, and “Integrated Electrochemical Capacitors for Emerging Self-powered Sensor Networks”, respectively.

Professor Atsuo Yamada, Professor Yong-Mook Kang, Professor Seokwoo Jeon, Professor Long Yitao, Professor Ouyang Liuzhang and Professor Ding Mingyue gave sub-forum keynote speeches entitled “Electrolyte Energetics beyond Debye-Huckel Theory”, “Innovating Layered Cathode Materials through the Mechanistic Understanding of Its Disorders”, “Case Studies on the Electrode of Li Batteries by 3D Nanostructures”, “Nanopore Electrochemistry: Confinement Controlled Single Entity Measurements”, “Hydrolysis and Regeneration of Borohydrides”, and “Efficiently Converting Syngas to Liquid Fuels with Reduced CO2 Emission”, respectively. The other 68 speakers gave invited talks. 

The summit selected six excellent oral awards and six excellent poster awards. The eScience Youth Editorial Board meeting was also held during the summit.

The summit themed “Low-carbon Energy and Sustainable Development” is committed to sharing the latest global technological progress in the field of new energy conversion and storage. It attracted over 300 scientific researchers, engineers and technicians, and enterprise representatives as well as over 200 students from China, Germany, the United Kingdom, Israel, Japan, South Korea, Singapore, the United States, etc. The summit promoted in-depth discussions on current research on advanced energy and future development trends through 8 plenary lectures, 6 keynote lectures, 68 invited talks, 69 posters, etc., with the aim of green, low-carbon and sustainable development around the world. 

(Edited and translated by Nankai News Team.)